Mix #98: “Don’t stop dreaming!”

When recording this mix, I wanted to play tracks that were a bit dreamy, you might event call them romantic – but I still wanted something that would make you dance. I have been collecting quite a bit of melodic tech-house, and a recent recommendation by a DJ friend (Dominik Eulberg’s Remix of Rone – Parade) was the final ingredient that I needed.

Don’t stop dreaming!

The first track in this mix (Mister Gubatz – Here Comes the Rain) is taken from the recent compilation “Misch-Poke” by Cologne-based label Silberschwein Music. Irwin Leschet, the mastermind behind the label, is very well-known in the area for his Silberschwein (German for “Silver Pig”) party series in Cologne that celebrated its 100th party this February.

I have also been following Eat More Cake for a while. They are true masters in taking well-known tunes and turning them into tasteful chillout versions. Their own productions are also on a very high level, but most people probably know them for their remixes. Their remix of the 80s classic “Don’t You Want Me” is more danceable than their other productions and really makes this one shine again.

I thought a bit about including Lindsey Stirling’s “Anti Gravity” into this mix. I really do like her music, and her famous track “Cristallize” still gives me goosebumps, but the track is not really produced in a DJ-friendly way and the violin is very dominant for a dance music track. I still included it because it’s just a great piece of music and I think that my listeners can take some surprises in a mix.

Another track that features a violin is the Hundred Birds Remix of rej by âme. A Hundred Birds is an orchestra from Japan that covers electronic dance music, and I have to say they do it really well. This one is a nice example of a remix turning a track into something new.

Peer Kusiv, a young producer from northern Germany, decided to give away his debut album “Natur&Techno” as a free download through his website – even though he certainly doesn’t have to. I have listened to that album many times, and I enjoy it more and more. This guy makes a rare combination of melodic, sometimes even acoustic sounds and straight tech-house. Love it!


  • Mister Gubatz – Here Comes the Rain (Nico Push Remix)
  • The Human League – Don’t You Want Me (Eat More Cake Remix)
  • The Presets Promises (Plastic Plates Remix)
  • Alt-J – Breezeblocks (Rockdaworld Remix)
  • Lindsey Stirling Anti Gravity
  • Peer Kusiv – Kadamom
  • âme – rej (A Hundred Birds Remix)
  • Booka Shade – Karma Car
  • Peer Kusiv – Gelöt
  • Daniel Herfen – C 1
  • Coma – Yellow
  • Vitalic – Poney Pt. I
  • Rone – Parade (Dominik Eulberg Remix)

Image: Knitsteel // CC-by-nd

About marvis (209 Articles)
Marvis is the founder of Sweet Headache. He lives in Cologne (Germany) and has been a music nerd for a long, long time.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


We are using tracking codes

Please confirm, if you accept our tracking cookies. You can also decline the tracking, so you can continue to visit our website without any data sent to third party services.