Sweet Headache 073: “Funky Robots”

Every now and then, I need some funky sounds that make me bounce and smile. I recorded this mix when I felt this need yesterday. I included Funky House, some Breakbeats and a little bit of Electro Swing.

I am actually listening to this mix right now, and it makes me smile. Mission accomplished, I guess. 😉

I haven’t bought any Hed Kandi compilations in quite a while. I generally like their style, but the tracks on one compilation always sound a little too similar to me. However, I did buy their latest “Disco Heaven 2011” compilation and actually enjoyed it – even though I can’t tell most tracks apart.

I haven’t seen Dan Lewis for a while, but it seems like he is having quite a bit of success recently: We were hosting a radio show together about 6 years ago, and now I find out he just had a release on the legendary House label Strictly Rhythm. Way to go, buddy!

I also have to say that I really underestimated Yolanda Be Cool. I only knew their massive hit “We No Speak Americano”, but when digging a little deeper, I found that they are not just a one-hit wonder – their tracks “Afro Nuts” and the more recent “The Bump” are true House anthems, and that’s why I included them in this mix.

Finally, I would like to give props to the Discotizer whose track “Baby” is also in this mix. I interviewed him for Sweet Headache a while ago, and we have also had a gig together in the meantime. Recently, he concentrated more on producing music and I have to say that this guy really knows what he is doing.


  • Miss Ketty – You Can Leave Your Hat On (Original Mix)
  • Discotizer – Baby (Got To Have Your Love) – Original Mix
  • Chocolate Puma – For Your Love 2011 (Original)
  • Gramophonedzie – Yeah Yeah (Original Mix)
  • Sebastian Roter, Dan Lewis – The Club (Roter & Lewis Original Mix)
  • Juan MacLean – Love In Tatters
  • Warren Clarke – Everybody (Funkanomics Remix)
  • Fuzzbox Inc. – Party People feat. Greg Blackman – Fort Knox Five Remix
  • The Beatpimps – Talkin’ Music – Wattie Green Dub
  • Tavo – Hollywood – Enzo Siffredi Remix
  • Eldoko – Woodworm Blues (Bring Back The Bass Edit)
  • Crystal Waters, Yolanda Be Cool – Le Bump feat. Crystal Waters (Original)
  • Hed Kandi Glitterarti – Disco’s Revenge (Garrett & Ojelay Remix)
  • The Odd Couple – Lady Shaker (Original Mix)
  • Valerie M, Lady Waks, Golitcin, Pro-Zeiko, Shiftee, Scratchbusters – Shake It Down
  • Yolanda Be Cool – Afro Nuts (Original Mix)
  • Tyrrell – Robofucius
 Image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/martintaylor/29480263/ // CC-by-nc-nd
About marvis (209 Articles)
Marvis is the founder of Sweet Headache. He lives in Cologne (Germany) and has been a music nerd for a long, long time.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


We are using tracking codes

Please confirm, if you accept our tracking cookies. You can also decline the tracking, so you can continue to visit our website without any data sent to third party services.