Sweet Headache 069: “Funk From Outer Space”

Funk From Outer Space

In this mix, I wanted to explore a slightly different blend of Funk, House and Disco. Those styles have already been combined a lot, but the tracks that I used here are slightly different.

You’ll hear dark Funk, spacey Disco and broken House Beats. This is for everyone who loves funky sounds, but wants to explore the Funk a little more. This is “Funk From Outer Space”. Enjoy!

It’s hard to compare Saul Williams to anyone else. He has a great Funk voice, but his music is always a little different than what you’d expect from a typical Funk track. “Dance”  is one of the few songs recently that have been giving me goosebumps.

Chilly Gonzales is a creative genius, and I am not just saying that. Unlike many people who produce dance music, Gonzales is a real musician that has an impressive amount of skill, energy – and craziness. I can recommend looking at a few of his videos. It’s pretty astounding just to watch this guy play. Here is the video for “You Can Dance”, the track that I used in this mix:

I usually try to avoid tracks with German lyrics here on Sweet Headache as this site is intended for an international crowd, but since “Nach fest kommt lose” by Die Sterne just fit so nicely with the style of the other tracks, I just had to include it. Besides, the lyrics don’t make much sense for me as a German, so I don’t really have an advantage here. I just liked the style.


  • Chilly Gonzales – You Can Dance
  • Permanent Vacation – Tic Toc
  • Saul Williams – Dance
  • Munk – Down in L.A. (Shazam Remix)
  • DJ Zeydan – Midnight Dream (DJ Ben Remix)
  • Atmosfear – Dancing in Outer Space (Lunar Mix Pt.1 by Masters at Work)
  • Dublex Inc. – Nifty Night (Voltique Remix)
  • Future Rock – Ladies and Gentlemen
  • Steve Yanko – Prostiture Pink
  • Sebastien Tellier – Kilometer (Moulinex Remix)
  • Kallendar – Straight From the Temple
  • Markus Ferdinand – Beautiful Dream (Wattie Green Remix)
  • Azari & Ill – Reckless With Your Love
  • Waldorf – Get Ready For Your Last Dance (ATOC Mix)
  • Die Sterne – Nach fest kommt lose
About marvis (209 Articles)
Marvis is the founder of Sweet Headache. He lives in Cologne (Germany) and has been a music nerd for a long, long time.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


We are using tracking codes

Please confirm, if you accept our tracking cookies. You can also decline the tracking, so you can continue to visit our website without any data sent to third party services.