Sweet Headache 033: “Building Blocks”

Building Blocks

This mix is an experiment, and I would love to hear your feedback on this one. Essentially, it is a solid Electro/Tech-House set that I decorated with lots of bits and pieces of well-known pop songs. You will probably recognize quite a bit. In a way, I used those songs as building blocks, not as songs. The idea is similar to mashups/bastard pop, but I think it’s still somewhat different.

Anyway, enjoy the set and let me know what you think! I will post some details on how I did this in the near future.


  1. Kelis – 4th of July (Clockwork Remix)
  2. Moonbootica – June
  3. Joris Voorn – The Secret
  4. Daniel Bovie & Roy Rox feat. Nelson – “Love Me” (ATFC Soultek Vocal)
  5. Mick Rubin – Als es passierte
  6. Afrojack & David Guette – Louder Than Words
  7. The XX – Stars (Lazrtag Remix)
  8. Lopazz – We Are (Rex the Dog Remix)
  9. Nicolette – No Government (Tocadisco’s Lazy Days Remix)

Also contains parts of songs by Lenny Kravitz, Sisters of Mercy, INXS, Culture Beat and more…

Image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/forced_perspective/3698329781/ // CC-by-nd

About marvis (209 Articles)
Marvis is the founder of Sweet Headache. He lives in Cologne (Germany) and has been a music nerd for a long, long time.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


We are using tracking codes

Please confirm, if you accept our tracking cookies. You can also decline the tracking, so you can continue to visit our website without any data sent to third party services.